DilloDaze Once Again

It’s here. It’s that time of year. It’s my big art show. It’s hard to conceive how immense is the Get Ready for a show of this size and duration, both by the artists and the producers of this marathon undertaking. Days and weeks and sometimes months of preparation come together and there almost seems to be a Big Bang of Creation, and suddenly, (though not easily), there appears a complete city of art and music sprung to life almost overnight. An empty hall is transformed into myriad sights and sounds, and then come the people. All of us hope “then come the people,” for if they don’t, we have to take all of this wonder back home. We like it when we don’t have so much to load back out and wait for the next build up and unveiling. Sales are happy events. Rather necessary ones, lest we have to consider life in the Real World, where we just don’t fit very well.

Here’s what my digs look like this year.

 

Last year I chronicled the actual construction of my booth, so another round of that is unnecessary. However, change has once again reared its head, and I suppose it’s not a bad thing. Gone are my massive wooden walls, a spectacle to behold, but cumbersome to contend with, so they have been relegated to a new life of wondering what their next life will be. They lie now under a big blue tarp next to the driveway and hope that no one tells any termites of their presence. Meantime my usual travel walls have traveled down to the venue here, and now they are filled with art — old favorites, new work, and dreams of paying off credit cards with an exchange of beauty for legal tender. We shall see.

Here’s what I consider to be my “show stopper,” except that it’s usually that horse. It was all I could do not to put my horse right there in star position, but I thought I’d give something else a chance at stardom. This time, my favorite Eve’s Garden image, on canvas, in a killer Old World frame. Again, we shall see.

 

Another new favorite image is also from Eve’s Garden – an abstract which is sort of Georgia O’Keeffe-ish. Will anyone else be so smitten? We shall see.

 

I have new neighbors all around. Across from me are very kind folks that come with a lot of color and a Service Dog named Twinkie. I’m told that moniker happened because she’s all toasty colored on the outside and creamy on the inside, and so there you are. Mitch and I exchange picture taking duties, and Twinkie looks faithfully on.

 

My hours here are spent with this view. Lots of color.

 

I look forward every year to seeing some favorite artist friends. This is one of them. Meet Greg Delaney, who commutes every year from Seattle. I suppose I like him so much because he has a semi-demented mind somewhat akin to my own, all reflected in his whimsical work. He’s also gorgeous, and wonderfully entertaining. (Oh sure, just like me, again.)

 

OK, the Greg glamour shot.

 

Perhaps I’ll have more time for reports from the Dillo. I’d like to think not, but perhaps there will be lulls. The aisles are empty as shown here, but getting more crowded every day. Come on down to see us at Armadillo Christmas Bazaar. We’d love to see you. Will you make it? We shall see.

Happy Shopping, Y’all.

3 Responses to “DilloDaze Once Again”

  1. howdy neighbor!
    this is “Twinkie’s” dad, Mitch
    As I write this I see you are putting your computer to bed, so you probably won’t get this until tomorrow, but I just want to thank you for saying such positive things about your colorful view at the Dillo.
    Our view ain’t so bad either!
    Good luck. See you tomorrow and the next day and the next day and the next day…well, you get the idea.

    • Not only kind, but NICE neighbors I have! Well, they do sort of go together. And now we’re almost pen pals. Next we’ll be passing notes across the aisle. Or Twinkie can become a Carrier Chihuahua, and earn another merit badge on her Service Dog vest.

      It means a lot to have nice neighbors at the Dillo. Because we get to look at them day after day, and the next day, and the next day, and yes, I get the idea.

      Now it’s time to put ME to bed, and it’s already tomorrow.

      Thanks Mitch, and Amy, and Twinkie.

  2. Oh wow! How cool is that!! I would LOVE to see all the booths in person. Hope all ya’ll have a successful show! I’ll be thinkin’ about ya!

Leave a Reply

